Author Topic: Gravity feed floods even with needle set to leanest position  (Read 16874 times)

fl250noob

• View Profile
Gravity feed floods even with needle set to leanest position
« on: August 20, 2012, 05:43:26 PM »
Total newbie here, both on the forum and with the fl250.  It's actually my father-in-law's and he said I could have it if I could get it running. It has a rigged gravity feed tank at the top of the seat and feeds directly into the carb. It would start first pull and idle fine, but out on the trail it would smoke excessively and flood at anything over 1/2 to 3/4 throttle.  It would recover when letting up on the throttle and idle fine, the just start to flood and smoke when pulling anything past about 1/4 throttle.

The throttle needle was set in the mid position, so I moved it up to the leanest setting at the top. It ran a lot better, but I still couldn't get it to really open up at full throttle.

On one run, the thing just picked up and hauled. Just like it was supposed to. No stuttering or pause on throttle. Well, it ran out of gas right after that.  So I got to thinking about the gravity feed setup and how the pressure of the fuel down the line may be causing excess fuel to be injected into the carb.  As it was almost out of gas with no fuel pressure from the tank, I figured that was the cause of the problems.

I have the OEM tank so I pulled off the fuel pump as I read on several posts that you should run the pump even with gravity feed. I hooked up the pump to the gravity tank and ran a line back up to the tank.  Fuel trickles out of that hose when running and the odyssey start and runs about the same as using the straight gravity feed set up.