Author Topic: Engine Lubrication  (Read 2299 times)

j11eck

• View Profile
Engine Lubrication
« on: March 30, 2009, 02:46:19 AM »
I am extremely new to this world of the Fl250. I recently acquired one that was in several pieces and I am trying to understand how it works as I put it back together so that I do not make any serious mistakes.

My odyssey is a 1983 Fl250, when I received it, the carb, fuel cell, fuel pump and the rear cage were all removed. I believe I have figured out the proper plumping of the fuel tank and carb, I have repaired the leaks in the tank, and I am about to reassembly the fl250.  I have test fired the engine (immediately killing it once it starts) by simply gravity feed fuel flow. I was impressed that it only required 2 pulls to start with the choke in the on position.

Being new to a 2-cycle engine, my question is this, if the port on the engine only operates the diaphragm pump, how is the engine lubricated on the bottom end, or am I a complete idiot and no lubrication required due to the use of ball bearings? Furthermore, is there anything else that commonly overlooked in this process by a noobie?

I welcome any advice you may have to offer me.

Jeff Eck
www.premiertrikes.com

hoodlum

• Administrator
    • View Profile
Re: Engine Lubrication
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2009, 08:30:53 AM »
Quote from: "j11eck"
I am extremely new to this world of the Fl250. I recently acquired one that was in several pieces and I am trying to understand how it works as I put it back together so that I do not make any serious mistakes.