Author Topic: Newbie here!  (Read 1797 times)

rzmax

• View Profile
Newbie here!
« on: September 20, 2006, 09:43:42 PM »
I'm a newbie to the site. Looks like loads of great info. Looking forward to browsing through it all. I've had my pilot for about 10 years and have never had a problem with it. Well sort of. Last season the left rear wheel bearings completely grenaded ruining the axle, hub and knuckle. So I decided its time for a complete frame up rebuild. Frame is in for powder coating now and a bunch of new goodies are on order from atvr and odysseysalvage.com. My question to you guys is with everything off, should I go through the gearbox, clutch, drive pulleys or any thing else? Also, I'm having a hard time with the stop rings in the rear a-arms. Got the fronts out no problem but the rears are killing me. Any tips? I'm also in need of a rollbar in any condition as long as its straight. Any help would be appreciated.

Moskito

• View Profile
    • http://www.yellowdogracing.com
Newbie here!
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2006, 09:19:15 AM »
Welcome to the site!

On the tranny - "If it ain't broke, don't fix it".  Drain the oil, check it for any sort of particles.  The Pilot tranny has proven to be very reliable.  If you have an 89, then it has issues with getting it into gear (reverse or forward) - it was an issue that Honda addressed in 90.  No biggie.

About the only thing that seems to go wrong with the tranny is the slipper clutch - and that's usually only when you've added quite a bit of HP.  You can check the slipper by looking at the color of the clutch.  It should be a nice, shiny aluminum color.  If it's slipping, it'll develop heat and they start changing to a bluish/brown.  If it's slipping, then worry about it and change out all the plates (four, as I recall) and the springs..  If not, leave it alone.

Stock drive clutch?  Time for a new one more than likely.  Get a Power-Bloc from ATV Racing.