Author Topic: Won't rev  (Read 3187 times)

Faux Pas

Won't rev
« on: March 22, 2004, 08:21:33 PM »
So here's the story. My friend knows nada about motor vehicles and he brought his pilot to me for help. I know something about karts but I just got my Pilot 3 weeks ago so I am new to them. He claims it ran ok when he drove it last and then when he started it after a week or so it won't rev past about 2500. It idles great but when you gas it kind of "stutters" is the best I can say. I pulled the choke and it got worse. It starts to rev up then it flattens out sounding like it has the choke on. Where do I begin? The plug is dark brown and a little wet but not bad. I put the plug in from mine, same thing. Should I swap carbs to test it? Lucky I happen to have a good spare Pilot laying around, right? Should I do a compression test?
Thanks guys.

litespeed

Won't rev
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2004, 03:45:33 AM »
You check the reverse safety switch? Sounds like a wire got cut or pulled....
Just pull both and ground. Be carefull, you will then be able to start it in reverse and forward and you could possibly run yourself over.

If that doesn't work, unscrew the spark plug cap and cut about 1/4" of the wire off and screw the cap back on.

Unplug and the replug all your wiring plugs together, make sure you haven't lost  contact someplace.

You have a good strong spark at the plug? Try a new plug for shits and grins?

twostrokes4ever

Won't rev
« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2004, 10:47:08 AM »
mabe one of the brakes is looked, knot shure does it rev freely to 2500 rpms or does it have a hard time,

Faux Pas

Won't rev
« Reply #3 on: March 23, 2004, 12:04:30 PM »
Yeah I swapped a known, good plug from my other Pilot and it was exactly the same. I will try the other things and see what happens. It does rev clean till it craps out. The safety switch could be it, I saw a post somewhere with pictures of it but I don't know where. Is it in the manual?
Cant be brakes, it does it neutral.