Author Topic: No spark  (Read 3969 times)

VooBoo

• View Profile
No spark
« on: April 02, 2014, 04:03:36 PM »
Hello everyone. Need some electrical help with my oddysseys.
First off I am terrible with electrical issues. I am learning as I go. Complete newb. And seeing as anyone I know hates it or doesn't know either. I am coming here. From what I find online for help they don't talk specifics and only in general terms.  Example. points and gaping. Says 35mm but what and were doesn't say...
Very hard to find direct answers searching online.

8years ago I got one complete odyssey red 1982. Yellow 1977 not running. Another yellow one in pieces and two extra motors.
I ran that first one for about 2years and loved it. Lost spark and fumbled my way around with swapping engines and worked for other month then nothing. Tried getting ppls help and doing It on my own and online. Gave up.sat for 5years now.
Last year I traded a gio bike for I think non running 84 fl250. Cleaned it out and she ran like a rapped ape. Fell in love again. Forgot how much fun they are.
Question
Did they come with factory side rails like the pilots. Seems like this one did. Weld job is stellar.
It didn't have a light. Hooked a light up and gave it a pull and nothing. Now I got no spark.
Question
How do you test stator. On 80's model and 70's. Factory manual doesn't give much info on this. I did test for ohms and one wire doesn't give me anything.
Question. I get there is points and Cdi. What reading should I get testing with a multi meter. On each wire.
Question. One of the engines I have has 3wires. Yellow black white wire. Engine tbo4e-2007090 3wires
So is this points or Cdi? And what reading should it get.?
Sorry if this doesn't make much sense. Hard to prof read on a iphone.

Everything is mixed up and spread out. 5years and moved. So kinda lost things

Marty

• View Profile
Re: No spark
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2014, 08:17:32 PM »