Author Topic: Thin Metal Base Gasket?  (Read 3945 times)

fl3501985

• View Profile
Thin Metal Base Gasket?
« on: September 27, 2013, 09:35:29 PM »
Five years ago I bought a fl350 with a blown piston.  I installed a piston that came with it.  I was told that I could reuse the base gasket if I just put high temp sealant on it.  This gasket was just a piece of metal.  I coated both sides and reused it.  Compression was good.  I couldn't do a leakdown test, as one of the bolts for the exhaust was stripped so it wouldn't tighten enough to seal(I think I have this fixed now).  The odyssey never ran well(only ridden a half hour) and was always out of oil.  I am wondering if the base gasket was leaking and sucking the oil out through the exhaust?  There was always black oil running down the frame from the exhaust, is this normal?  I am new to two strokes.  It was always really smokey.  Is there any logic to this?  Since then I have had two kids and am just getting around to looking at it again.

I ordered a honda gasket to put the head back on, but what is the purpose of the thin metal gasket?  Should it be left out or does it serve a purpose?  Above or below the fibre gasket?  I don't see it in the manual.  Also, think I should I separate the cases and replace all the seals or put it back together and do a leak down test?  If replacing the seals, should I bite the bullet and do the bearings?  I really don't know the history of the machine.

Any advice is greatly appreciated.  Thanks.

shoubadaba

• View Profile
Re: Thin Metal Base Gasket?
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2013, 11:36:07 PM »