Author Topic: Need help---melted piston  (Read 4036 times)

KIAtech

• View Profile
Need help---melted piston
« on: February 20, 2013, 06:45:28 PM »
Im new to the 2 strokes.  Im used to working on cars but trying to help out a friend of mine with his pilot.  He said he was riding it and it just cut off on him.  He brought it to me.  Had 0 compression.  So i pulled the jug off and removed the piston.  the side of the piston is melted and has a whole in it.  the jug looks pretty scared up as well.  What would cause this and what do I need to get it fixed and where to get parts etc.  And how do i find out what size piston/rings/jug etc. that i need.

Thanks in advanced.

LiveWire

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • 85 Honda Odyssey FL350 Parts
Re: Need help---melted piston
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2013, 07:42:37 PM »
Measure the bottom of the piston from front to back to get the current size. Usually the next .5mm larger will clean up the bore. Standard is 80mm and they are available up to 82mm: http://www.aftershockmotorsports.com/Honda-FL400R-Pilot/Engine/Wiseco-Piston-Kit
http://www.aftershockmotorsports.com/Honda-FL400R-Pilot/Engine/FL400-Gasket-Kit

A 2 stroke cylinder should not be bored with a multi cutter boring bar because the interrupted cut at the ports causes a shadow on the opposite side. It cannot be honed with a spring loaded hone because it will snag the ports as well as make the bore out of round.

It was probably lean. What temperature is it where you are at? It would have been good to check for air leaks before pulling the jug.

KIAtech

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2013, 09:03:04 PM »
Thanks for the quick reply.  I will try to remember to bring my mic home from work tomorrow.  Also I believe this motor has already been bored.  If so can it be cleaned up and or bored again?  Where would I find a new jug if I end up needing one?  You asked how the climate was here.  Im in va.  When it failed it was in the fall.  70 - 80degrees.