Author Topic: Hey all, total noob here with some tech questions/ pic ?s  (Read 1974 times)

vreihenmotor6

Hey all, total noob here with some tech questions/ pic ?s
« on: November 08, 2004, 10:00:17 AM »
hey, I've never even seen an pilot up close but I have a feeling that it could very helpfull to me in my creation of this:

I'm very interesed to see the steering linkage on the pilot
currently we use a handle bar but we are considering a butterfly wheel for this years car

also I'm very interested in the drivetrain setup on the pilot
the onlu think I'm sure of it that it uses a cvt
does it have a mulit speed gear box?
or is it a F-N-R box?
does the pilot use a diff?, or an lsd, or is it a spool?

thanks a lot
sorry about all the questions

vreihenmotor6

« Reply #1 on: November 08, 2004, 10:25:50 AM »
okay, I got a downloadable manual and I answered some of my questions

as far as I can figure out the tierods go all the way to the center of the car
are there bump steer issues with that?
I know that with the currentt car the difference between the a arm lenght and tie rod lenth created some nasty bump steer for us

and what is the torque limiter?
is it a device to limit drive train stock after landing a rough jump?

Moskito

• View Profile
    • http://www.yellowdogracing.com
« Reply #2 on: November 08, 2004, 11:40:50 AM »
if you want some pix of a bump steer setup, check my web pages on one of my projects:  http://www.yellowdogracing.com/fs.htm

The stock Pilot suspension does suffer from bump steer - especially when you start long traveling it.  ATV Racing makes a bump steer kit that eliminates the majority of the problem.
Moskito - Life is not a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and loudly proclaiming \'WOW-What a Ride!\'

vreihenmotor6

« Reply #3 on: November 08, 2004, 04:17:23 PM »
cool
looks nice
thank for the link :!: