Author Topic: 350 cluch enguagement question  (Read 4371 times)

KartKrazy

350 cluch enguagement question
« on: June 22, 2004, 07:53:43 PM »
Hi all,  I just bought a 350, and the clutch I'm pretty sure needs attention.
The clutch will not engage right away you have to rev the engine high a couple of times and then will engage. I replaced it with a clutch of unknowing condition and history, and it will engage about 50% throttle, is that normal?
or is it supposed  to engage as you roll on the throttle kind of like a polaris atv, I have no experience for comparison. Any advice would be great! OOH I almost forgot the belt looks to be in good shape

thanks

p.s. if anyone has a steering wheel puller set, the longer puller bolt fits the clutch perfectly and popped the clutch off with ease!

ludedude

• View Profile
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2004, 09:05:00 PM »
What type of clutch is it? If it's an aftermarket Comet or Power Bloc the previous owner may have removed a lot of weights to raise the engagement of the clutch to higher rpms.

It could also be getting worn though :|

KartKrazy

« Reply #2 on: June 22, 2004, 09:59:48 PM »
as far as I can tell they are both stock. Is the clutch supposed to engage when you first roll on the throttle?

ludedude

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: June 22, 2004, 10:05:26 PM »
You'll have to ask on e of the 350 guys...sorry. I would expect the stock clutch to engage not far from idle, but I can't say for sure....

Anyone...350nut? MassOdy?

boogieonmyfinger

« Reply #4 on: June 23, 2004, 05:05:58 AM »
I have a 350 and my clutch behaves the same way.  I'm not sure if it's supposed to or not.

Odyknuck

• View Profile
« Reply #5 on: June 23, 2004, 05:52:36 AM »
The stock clutch engauges around 3100 RPM. The Comet 94c Replacement is close to stock. The 102C usally comes with a 4600 RPM stall speed. There are springs to be able to reduce the stall speed for the 102C

KartKrazy

« Reply #6 on: June 23, 2004, 06:05:58 AM »